top of page

Who are we?

Morgannwg LMC consists of 22 elected GP members, 10 representing Swansea, 5 representing NPT and 7 representing sessional/first five GPs.

The majority of the representative work is undertaken by an Executive Committee made up of:

  1. Chair

  2. Deputy-Chair

  3. Medical Director

  4. Executive Team Members 

  5. Executive Secretary

  6. Secretarial Assistant

Our full committee consists of the Executive Members, Swansea Representatives, Neath Port Talbot Representatives, Sessional Representatives, First Five Representatives, Co-opted Members and GP Training Scheme Representatives.

If you would like information about joining please click here or contact us!


Meet the Executive team.

Our executive team handles the day-to-day running off Morgannwg LMC. This can be anything from providing pastoral care, attending meetings with Swansea Bay University Health Board or responding to queries from practices

Executive Committee Members

Dr Phil Cox

Dr Phil Cox is a GP partner working in Rosedale Surgery, Port Talbot, with a long history of working in elite sport, most recently with the Wales Under 19 football team. A knee injury and lack of talent have limited his athletic ambitions, but he enjoys keeping fit and participating in tennis and football locally. He can usually be found exploring the natural beauty South Wales has to offer with his wife and dog.

He is also Chair of GPDF

Dr Sandar Hlaing
Deputy Chair

Dr Hlaing is Vice Chair. Sandar is passionate about delivering comprehensive care for the elderly, promoting quality care in end of life, sexual health and mental health issues. Dr Hlaing love teaching and enjoy gardening in her spare time.

Dr Nimish Shah
Medical Director

I am involved in all aspects of the LMC giving advice to GPs on contractual, property and pastoral issues. I am also available for support to LMC members and staff. I am passionate about improving the working lives of all GP's both sessional and contractor.

I have experience of medical politics at all levels including local medical committee chair, GPC Wales negotiator, chair of Welsh conference of LMC's and UK GPC sessional subcommittee.

In my spare time I enjoy golf (getting worse with age), travel, family time and fine wine (getting better with age).

Dr Richard Thomas
Executive Committee Member

Dr Richard Thomas has been a GP partner in Swansea since 2003. He taught medical students at Swansea University for 10 years and is an examiner with the RCGP. He has a passion for training, which includes coaching his son's rugby team. He has more children than sense (exemplified by his love of snowboarding and his border collie). Born in Swansea, he has learned to speak Welsh since moving back in 2000.

Dr Shanti Karupiah
Executive Committee Member


Dr Robin Spacie
Executive Committee Member

Dr Robin Spacie is a GP partner working in Estuary Group Practice, Swansea, and has been involved with the LMC since 2019. He grew up in Swansea, did his training in Oxford and was an anaesthetist for five years before his excellent career change to general practice. Dr Spacie enjoys swimming, cycling and running around Gower; sometimes on the same day but not when he is injured which is often. 

Dr Pramila Ramkumar
Executive Committee Member

Pramila Ramkumar did undergraduate medical training in India and GP training in Cardiff and Swansea. She works as a GP since 2010 & currently a GP partner in Mountain View Health Centre. In her spare time, she relishes in doing RJ for a Tamil language radio, dancing, walking, exercising and arranging festive social gatherings to cherish community cohesiveness.


Swansea Representatives

Dr Richard Beynon


Dr Mike Bull


Dr Aimee Calo


Dr Hannah Harris


Dr Marged Jenkins


Dr Laurence Kerrigan


Dr Pramila Ramkumar
Executive Committee Member

Mountain View

Dr Robin Spacie
Executive Committee Member

Estuary Group Practice

Dr Richard Thomas
Executive Committee Member


Dr Holly Thornley

Estuary Group Practice


Neath Port Talbot Representatives

Dr Phil Cox

Dr Rebecca Ryell

Dr Kirsty Wallis


Sessional Representatives

Dr Tracey Brady
Dr Ross Chidgey
Dr Sandar Hlaing
Dr Shanti Karupiah
Executive Committee Member
Dr Nimish Shah
Chief Executive Officer
Dr Ahmed Salih

First Five Representative

Dr Stuart Kyle

Co-opted members

Caroline Jones

Practice Manager, Mumbles Medical Practice

Swansea Representative

Lorraine Flower

Practice Manager, The Grove Medical Centre

Swansea Representative


Ines Beare

Practice Manager, Briton Ferry Health Centre

Neath Port-Talbot

Faye Killick

PMPractice Manager, Skewen Medical Centre

Neath Port-Talbot Representative

GP Training Scheme Representative

Dr Ahmed Zain
Swansea Bay GP Training Scheme Representative
bottom of page