Skip to main content

Morgannwg LMC consists of 30 elected GP members, 10 representing Swansea, 5 each representing Neath/Port Talbot & Bridgend and 10 representing Sessional / First five GPs.



The majority of the representative work is undertaken by an Executive Committee made up of:

  1. Chair
  2. Vice-Chair
  3. Medical Secretary
  4. Executive Team Members  x4 (one vacancy)
  5. Executive Secretary
  6. Secretarial Assistant

The team

Dr Ian Harris - Elected as LMC Chair at the AGM on 11 April 2017

Dr Harris has been a GP partner in Bridgend since 2001. Since September 2016 Ian has been one of your reps on GPC Wales. He is passionate about securing fair funding for all ABMU practices to allow the service to survive the current pressures and continue to deliver quality care. Dr Harris is married with 3 children and loves sport of any kind, particularly rugby and cricket.

Dr Sandar Hlaing - Vice-Chair ( wef 1st Feb 2018)

Dr Hlaing has been a GP partner in Swansea since 2009 and was elected an executive of the LMC in 2016. Sandar is passionate about delivering comprehensive care for the elderly, promoting quality care in end of life, sexual health and mental health issues. Dr Hlaing love teaching and enjoy gardening in her spare time.

Dr Heather Wilkes - Executive Committee Member

Dr Wilkes has been a GP in Briton Ferry for over 21 years and has seen many changes! During this time she has been involved with various aspects of primary care including training, networks & clusters and working with NWIS to develop WCCG. Heather joined the LMC Executive team in June 2015 and believes in the traditional model of primary care - well funded and supported.

Dr Ashok Rayani - Medical Secretary

Dr Rayani has been a GP Principal in Swansea since 1989 and since then has been a GP trainee rep, a GP trainer, a medical student tutor, a member of GPC Wales (having once been a national negotiator) and continues to represent colleagues on numerous hospital and Health Board committees.  He is involved in Prison healthcare and believe passionately in the involvement of GPs in OOH care, having been involved in setting up the Swansea GP Co-operative in 1996.   Ashok has been a member of the LMC since 1985 and LMC Medical secretary since 2015. He believes it is important to engage the wider GP community in LMC activities, particularly younger members as it is their future that needs to be protected.  Outside of general practice Dr Ashok enjoys the usual activities of older GPs (eating, drinking, golf, skiing and more recently sky diving!). 

Dr Nimish Shah - Executive Committee Member

Dr Shah is a long standing LMC Executive Committee member and was Chair of the LMC between 2014-2017.  He is a GPC Wales negotiator and is passionate about trying to improve the working lives of all GPs - Sessional and Contractor.  He is elected to UK GPC sessional sub-committee.  He co-chairs GPNSAG and is Chair of the Welsh Conference of LMC's.   In his spare time he enjoys golf, family time, travel and fine wine.  


Emma Harris - Secretarial Assistant

Morag Liddell - Executive Officer

Morag has been working with the LMC since April 2015 and really enjoys working with the team who are committed to supporting Primary Care services. Morag has a background in Health Service management and was involved in developing and managing the GP OOH Service between 1996-2014.  

The remaining  Elected GP members are:

BRIDGEND - Drs Peter Evans and Jerome Donagh - Two vacancies

NPT - Drs Tim Cufflin, Kristy Mellin and Paul Williams (NPT) One vacancy

SWANSEA - Drs Charlotte Jones, Rhydian Jones, Shanti Karupiah, James Kerrigan, Manisha Rickards,Richard Thomas -Two vacancies

SESSIONAL / FIRST FIVE: Drs Phil Cox, Helen Dean, Harry Hunt, Pramila Ramkumar, Alan Stevenson and Kirsty Wallis -Three vacancies

To get in touch with us click here.

Website designed by Bull Solutions. Copyright 2018 Morgannwg LMC Ltd. All Rights Reserved.

Company Reg No: 7582825

Site Map Privacy Policy